All the latest news from The Jersey Royal Company.


Early côtil activity

Posted: Monday, January 22, 2018

A new year and a new season, and the first fields to be planted are the steep slopes, known locally in Jersey as côtils.

Read more
AM1 close

Update on indoor crop

Posted: Tuesday, December 05, 2017

All crops planted are growing well in mild conditions.

Read more
Looking up towards tractor2.jpg

Ploughing côtils

Posted: Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Land preparation has begun ahead of planting outdoors in January.

Read more
Planting team.jpg

Indoor planting

Posted: Wednesday, November 01, 2017

The earliest Jersey Royal new potatoes are grown in glasshouses and polytunnels.

Read more

Standing seed

Posted: Thursday, October 19, 2017

Grading and standing the seed crop is the biggest job over the Autumn months.

Read more
Flailing and breezing.jpg

Hot mustard flailing

Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017

Hot mustard is grown as a second crop following Jersey Royal new potatoes.

Read more
Unloading on the move - 2 tractors.jpg

Digging seed

Posted: Monday, July 24, 2017

Digging the seed crop is nearing the end.

Read more

Tipping seed

Posted: Tuesday, July 04, 2017

Digging seed is only half the story...

Read more

Setting up a harvester for digging seed

Posted: Friday, June 30, 2017

Seed harvest is a key point in the season, and a really big job

Read more

Soil sampling and GPS mapping

Posted: Monday, June 26, 2017

Each year The Jersey Royal Company tests all of its fields

Read more